Happy new years eve!

22 Jan

Today is Lunar New Year’s Eve! I usually am spending time with family for the holiday but since WA is dealing with all this crazy snow business I decided not to venture up north. For Vietnamese people, the most important thing for New Year’s (or Tet) is to eat banh chung or banh tet. It’s really labor intense dish that is sticky glutinous rice with mung bean and pork in the middle, all wrapped up in banana leaves. I like banh tet better cause it’s a log shaped, thereby making it easier to slice up, fry and sprinkle with sugar! It’s eaten dipped with fish sauce and pickled vegetables and its a carb-bomb but I knew I had to cheat since it’s a once in a year dish!

I could only find the vegetarian version so I bought some cha lua to eat it with. It was well worth it…yumyum

Breakfast

-scrambled eggs with sweet peppers and grape tomatoes

Lunch/Dinner

-banh chung with cha

-last 6 remaining discs of roasted eggplant

20120122-204131.jpg

I also made a paleo crumble topping to put on top of my applesauce. I mixed up 1 spoon of coconut oil, almond meal, coconut flakes, flax seed, and chopped up almonds. Not bad…but not exactly apple crisp haha.

20120122-204140.jpg

I haven’t had much of an appetite these past days…

Leave a comment